Connect with Metro
503-797-1700
503-797-1804 TDD
503-797-1797 fax

Metro trail counts and surveys

Planning and conservation    Natural areas, parks and trails    Planning parks and trails    Regional trails and greenways    Trail counts

Get involved with an ongoing project to collect important data on bicycle and pedestrian activity.

On The Intertwine blog

Dive into data on trail counts to learn about who is using trails in the region and which trails are the busiest. Read more

Ready, set, count!

Each September, volunteers from throughout the region gather along trails to count and survey people biking and walking on the Intertwine – the Portland metropolitan area's system of trails, parks and natural areas. The count is part of the National Bicycle and Pedestrian Documentation Project’s ongoing effort to gather accurate trail use data to help decide where and when to build new trails and respond to the needs of trail users. Learn more

View trail count sites in Google Maps
View trail count sites in Google Earth

Partners and volunteers are critical to the project's success

The Intertwine trail counts and surveys project could not be accomplished without the help of local partners and volunteers. In 2012, 150 volunteers counted at 102 unique sites. Metro partnered with the cities of Cornelius, Gresham, Hillsboro, Lake Oswego. Oregon City, Portland, Sandy, Tigard, Tualatin and West Linn and with Clackamas and Clark Counties, Oregon Department of Transportation, Oregon Parks and Recreation and Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District on project coordination and training.

Why count?

The Portland metropolitan area is supported by a system of regional parks and trails that connect people to natural areas and wildlife, transit, schools, shopping and jobs. The growing network of bicycle and pedestrian pathways boosts the region's tourism activities, offers recreational opportunities and helps the region grow in a way that improves livability and reduces energy dependence. The Intertwine trail counts and surveys project helps maintain and increase these benefits by tracking usage, trail conditions and future demand.

trail countersCounting automobiles and transit users has been a well-established practice for years, but until now, there has been no consistent effort to do the same for bikers and walkers. The lack of data is part of the reason why these transportation modes receive less transportation funding.

The data gathered is used to support funding requests, planning and development and to better understand the region's overall feelings and values about trails. Volunteers use nationally standardized methods for surveying and data recording in order to ensure consistent responses. To learn more about the project and last year's results, review the project documents below.

Trail countersBy the numbers

In September 2013, more than 25,000 trail users were counted in two days.

  • Total counts: 25,959
  • Pedestrians: 12,054
  • Bicyclists: 13,580
  • Other : 325*
  • Females: 10,441
  • Males: 15,520

*Includes all other modes such as rollerblading and skateboarding.

In 2013, Metro and its partners recruited 144 volunteers at 94 sites.

Metro will lead the seventh annual Intertwine trail count in September 2014 with new and returning partners. Sites selected for the project will be tied to current or future trail projects.

Photos and data from the 2013 trail counts coming in early 2014. View a presentation with photos and data from the 2011 trail counts. Download the presentation

Local contacts

Metro
Mel Huie, 503-797-1731, mel.huie@oregonmetro.gov

Beaverton and Tualatin Hills Parks
Melissa Marcum, 503-629-605 ext. 2720, mmarcum@thprd.org

Clackamas County and North Clackamas Parks
Katie Dunham, 503-742-4358, kdunham@co.clackamas.or.us

Cornelius
Richard Reynolds, 503-357-3011, rreynolds@ci.cornelius.or.us

Forest Grove
Tom Gamble, 503-992-3237, tgamble@forestgrove-or.gov

Gresham
Kate Dreyfus, 503-618-2294, kate.dreyfus@greshamoregon.gov

Happy Valley
Justin Popilek, 503-783-3810, justinp@ci.happy-valley.or.us

Hillsboro
Brad Choi, 503-681-5203, brad.choi@hillsboro-oregon.gov

Lake Oswego
Ryan Stee, 503-697-6575, rstee@ci.oswego.or.us

Oregon State Parks
Guy Rodrigue, 503-630-7150, guy.rodrigue@state.or.us
Steve Kruger, 503-324-0606, ext 223, steve.kruger@state.or.us
John Mullen, 503-636-9886, ext 223, john.mullen@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Transportation
Jessica Horning, 503-731-3359, jessica.horning@odot.state.or.us

Portland
April Bertelsen, 503-823-6177, april.bertelsen@portlandoregon.gov
Taylor Sutton, 503-823-4533, taylor.sutton@portlandoregon.gov

Sandy
Nancy Enabnit, 503-489-2157, nenabnit@cityofsandy.com

Tigard
Greg Stout, 503-718-2817, gregs@tigard-or.gov
Mike McCarthy, 503-718-2462, mikem@tigard-or.gov

Tualatin
Carl Switzer, 504-691-3064, cswitzer@ci.tualatin.or.us

Vancouver / Clark Co. Parks
Hailey Heath, 360-487-8316, hailey.heath@cityofvancouver.us

West Linn
Zach Pelz, 503-656-4211, zpelz@westlinnoregon.gov

Wilsonville / South Metro Area Transit
Ricardo Banuelos, 503-682-0502, banuelos@ridesmart.com
Jen Massa Smith, 503-682-4523, massa@ridesmart.com

To view KML files, download free Google Earth application.

To view PDF files, download free Adobe Reader. To translate PDF files into text to assist visually-impaired users, visit Access.Adobe.com.

To view MOV files, download free QuickTime.

Trail count documents

Need assistance?

Mel Huie
503-797-1731
mel.huie@oregonmetro.gov

Places and Activities

The Intertwine is the name for the region's ever-growing network of integrated parks, trails and natural areas. See a regional map of The Intertwine's best-loved outdoor recreation and education locations, and find nature activities, bike rides, bird walks, volunteer opportunities and many workshops on the calendar.

Explore the map
Browse the calendar

© 2014 Metro. All rights reserved.

Send questions, comments and suggestions about the website to feedback@oregonmetro.gov.

Metro
600 NE Grand Ave.
Portland, OR 97232-2736
503-797-1700
503-797-1804 TDD
503-797-1797 fax