

# Metro transfer stations What to know

Metro's transfer stations provide many recycling, recovery and disposal services. Questions? Visit oregonmetro.gov/garbage or call 503-234-3000.

## **DISPOSAL FEES PER TON** FOR COVERED LOADS\*

Trash/garbage minimum fee	\$153.67 <i>\$45.00</i>
Wood/yard debris mixed, engineered wood minimum fee	\$153.67 \$45.00
Clean wood minimum fee	\$81.92 \$37.00
Clean yard debris minimum fee	\$56.00 \$34.00
Residential organics minimum fee	\$94.04 \$38.00
Commercial organics ** minimum fee	\$82.41 \$37.00

The minimum fee applies to loads up to 240 pounds. Loads over 240 pounds are charged a proportion of the per-ton fee, plus a transaction fee of \$7.25 per load for automated scales or \$27 per load for staffed scales.

\*Additional fees will be added for uncovered loads.

#### **SAFETY**

Metro is committed to providing a safe disposal site. We ask everyone to follow staff directions at all times and to move safely around the facility. Visitors who harass or endanger staff or customers may be removed from the site.

#### WHAT DO FEES PAY FOR?

Fees cover the costs of providing safe disposal and reclamation of materials and are adjusted every year. They pay for programs to reduce waste, promote recycling and clean up illegal dump sites.

For every ton disposed, a \$1 fee funds community enhancements to benefit people who live or work near Metro transfer stations.

# **LOWER DISPOSAL** COSTS BY:

Sorting your recyclables Get a \$3 rebate for recycling up to 100 pounds of materials or a \$6 rebate for recycling more than 100 pounds.

# Reducing your number of trips

Bigger loads are cheaper by the pound, so save money by combining trips.

Covering your load Loads that do not have a covering are charged an additional \$25 per ton (\$3 extra for minimum loads). Uncovered loads are a hazard and can result in a littering fine.

## **HOUSEHOLD HAZARDOUS** WASTE DISPOSAL

Metro accepts household chemicals, including pool and spa chemicals, paints, pesticides, solvents, batteries and fluorescent light bulbs at its household hazardous waste facilities.

Separate these materials from garbage and recycling and dispose of them at the household hazardous waste facility, not on the transfer station floor.

Medical sharps (such as syringes, IV tubing with needles and scalpel blades) are accepted when disposed of in a red state-certified sharps container.

Household hazardous waste disposal is free for households, up to 35 gallons per visit. Businesses that generate hazardous waste are charged. Businesses must qualify as a very small quantity generator and make an appointment before disposal. More information:

oregonmetro.gov/ businesshazwaste

#### **Metro Central**

6161 NW 61st Ave., Portland 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily

### **Household hazardous** waste hours:

9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Closed on Sundays.

#### **Metro South**

2001 Washington St., Oregon City 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

#### Household hazardous waste hours:

# 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily

Transfer stations and household hazardous waste facilities are closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.

#### **Payment**

Cash, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express, debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and checks are accepted. Personal checks require a valid driver's license matching the check. Signer must be present.

<sup>\*\*</sup>Commercial organics and loads delivered in semi-trailers are not accepted at Metro South.

#### WHAT'S ACCEPTED

#### **Boats and campers**

\$153.67/ton | Minimum fee: \$45

Under certain conditions boats and campers are accepted. Fuel tanks and appliances must be removed. Boats must be less than 12 feet long by 8 feet wide. Campers without chassis are accepted. Asbestos testing is required for campers older than 2004.

#### **Christmas trees**

\$27 for up to 3 trees

Trees must be no more than 12 feet tall. Remove all decorations. Flocked trees charged as garbage.

#### **Coolant appliances**

\$30 per appliance

This includes all appliances built to contain coolants, such as air conditioners, freezers and refrigerators. Limit of five per day per person. Other appliances may be accepted free of charge, see the "Free recycling" section.

# Passenger vehicle, motorcycle and ATV solid core tires

Minimum charge: \$27 for first tire

Each additional tire: \$2 off rim or \$4 on rim

Separate tires from garbage. Once the per-tire fee exceeds the minimum fee for garbage (\$45), loads will be weighed and charged the garbage fee. Limit of 15 tires per day per customer.

Bicycle tires are accepted and charged as garbage. Limit of 15 tires per day per customer. Tractor tires, heavy equipment tires or semi tires are not accepted.

#### Railroad ties

\$153.67/ton | Minimum fee \$45

Railroad ties 4 feet or shorter are accepted in small numbers from noncommercial customers. Railroad ties longer than 4 feet are not accepted.

#### Yard debris and wood

Clean yard debris: \$56/ton | Minimum fee: \$34

Clean wood:

\$81.92/ton | Minimum fee: \$37

To receive the clean yard debris or wood rate, yard debris and wood must be separated. Mixed loads are charged at the garbage rate. Yard debris must be free of dirt, sod, stumps greater than 18 inches in diameter, rocks, metal, glass, garbage and plastic bags. Wood must be raw dimensional lumber, pallets or packing crates free of paint, stain and other treatments and free of strapping, shrink wrap, shipping labels and hardware (nails OK).

Engineered wood (plywood, oriented strand board, particle board), laminated wood and paneling, and painted, treated, stained or varnished wood is charged as garbage.

#### FREE RECYCLING

- Aluminum Clean all containers.
- Appliances Metal dishwashers, water heaters, washers, dryers, stoves. No plastic appliances.
- Automotive batteries Secure leaking batteries in leak-proof containers.
- · Corrugated cardboard
- Copper and ferrous metals
- Electronics Computers, laptops, monitors, televisions, keyboards, mice and desktop printers are accepted. Limit of seven items per day per person.
- Glass Jars and bottles only. Rinse and sort by color. Separate metal caps to be recycled with tin cans.
- Magazines and newspapers No strings or paper bags.
- Metal wire fencing Some may be accepted for recycling. Cyclone fencing must be neatly rolled and should not contain other material, such as plastic slats and concrete. Barbed wire accepted as garbage.
- Motor oil and antifreeze Must be in 5-gallon or smaller unbreakable containers with screw-on lids. Limit 20 gallons per customer per day.
- Plastic milk jugs, bottles with neck or threaded opening – Remove lids, rinse and flatten.
- Plastic containers Containers such as yogurt, margarine and sour cream tubs, cat litter and laundry-detergent buckets, and rigid nursery pots. Rinse containers and remove metal handles to recycle with scrap metal. Recycle with plastic bottles and jars. Plastic lids and plastic handles can be included.
- Paper Includes junk mail, cereal boxes and paper grocery bags.
- Tin cans

# ASBESTOS PAPERWORK REQUIRED FOR CONSTRUCTION WASTE

Metro cannot accept materials containing asbestos. People who dispose of prohibited materials may be liable for the costs of testing and cleanup, which can be substantial. All loads of remodeling, construction and demolition waste are screened for materials that may contain asbestos. Recent proper paperwork for loads with suspect materials is required. More information: oregonmetro.gov/asbestosrules

#### **Questions?**

Visit oregonmetro.gov/garbage or call 503-234-3000