

Oregonian Crossing Fact sheet

The Stats

- In Oregon, from 2009 to 2013, on average 798 people walking were injured and 52 were killed in motor vehicle crashes each year.
- The majority of people walking killed or injured during motor vehicle crashes are a result of the failure of people driving to yield to the person walking.
- Nearly half of people walking who are struck by vehicles are hit while they are in a crosswalk.



The Law

- A crosswalk exists at any public street intersection, whether marked with paint or unmarked (OR 801.220). Crosswalks also exist between intersections (mid-block) only if they are marked with white painted lines.
- A person is crossing the roadway in a crosswalk when any part or extension of them, including but not limited to any part of their body, wheelchair, cane, crutch or bicycle, moves into the roadway in a crosswalk with the intent to proceed. (ORS 811.028(E)(4))
- If a person driving fails to stop, and remained stopped, for a person crossing with a traffic control device or crossing in a crosswalk, the person driving may be cited for a fine ranging from \$260 to \$1,000. (ORS 153.018, 153.019)

Other FAQ

- The law allows someone on a bicycle to have the same crossing rights as someone walking, if they are in a crosswalk, signal intent to cross, and proceed at the speed of someone walking. They do not have to dismount to exercise their right to cross. (OR 811.028 (4)).
- When riding a bicycle in the street, you must abide by traffic control devices (e.g. stop signs, signals) just like when you are driving. People on bikes, moving as cross traffic, need to stop for people walking showing intent to cross at an intersection. (OR 814.400).
- At signalized intersections, all intersection users must abide by traffic control devices. (OR 811.260).