Connect with Metro
503-797-1700
503-797-1804 TDD
503-797-1797 fax

Management and work teams

About Metro    Management and work teams

Meet the chief operating officer, learn about Metro's structure and find contact information for work team directors and other key staff.

Sustainable Metro Initiative

In fall 2008 Metro launched an organization-wide project called the Sustainable Metro Initiative to enhance delivery of services by improving management practices and aligning many business functions.

Read a news release about the initiative

The Metro Council appoints a chief operating officer to carry out council policies and manage Metro operations. The chief operating officer oversees a diverse workforce of more than 1,600 employees. These include specialists such as park rangers, economists, teachers, scientists, designers, planners, zoo keepers, stage hands and cartographers.

Metro management

Chief Operating Officer
Martha Bennett
503-797-1541 | martha.bennett@oregonmetro.gov

Deputy Chief Operating Officer
Scott Robinson
503-797-1605 | scott.robinson@oregonmetro.gov

Metro Council office
Ina Zucker, manager
503-797-1543 | ina.zucker@oregonmetro.gov

Finance and regulatory affairs
Tim Collier, director
503‑797‑1913 | tim.collier@oregonmetro.gov

Information services
Rachel Coe, director
503-797-1598 | rachel.coe@oregonmetro.gov

Communications
Jim Middaugh, director
503-797-1505 | jim.middaugh@oregonmetro.gov

Human resources
Mary Rowe, director
503-797-1572 | mary.rowe@oregonmetro.gov

Planning and development
Steve Wheeler, interim director
503‑797‑1714 | steve.wheeler@oregonmetro.gov

Sustainability center
Jim Desmond, director
503-797-1914 | jim.desmond@oregonmetro.gov

Parks and environmental services
Paul Slyman, director
503-797-1510 | paul.slyman@oregonmetro.gov

Research center
Scott Robinson, interim director
503-797-1605 | scott.robinson@oregonmetro.gov

Oregon Zoo
Kim Smith, director
503-220-2450 | kim.smith@oregonzoo.org

Office of the Metro attorney
Alison R. Kean, Metro attorney
503-797-1511 | alison.kean@oregonmetro.gov

Visitor venues
Teri Dresler, general manager
503‑797‑1790 | teri.dresler@oregonmetro.gov

Related Documents

To view PDF files, download free Adobe Reader. To translate PDF files into text to assist visually-impaired users, visit Access.Adobe.com.

To view MOV files, download free QuickTime.

Related Links

Metro realigns departments to better serve region

Metro news release: Sept. 23, 2008 - Metro announced plans to reexamine its business and management structure in order to sharpen its focus on continuous improvement and better serve the residents of the region.

Collaboration

Visitor venues

The Oregon Convention Center, Oregon Zoo, Portland Center for the Performing Arts and Portland Expo Center are part of Metro visitor venues group, formed in July 2010. The new work team actively collaborates on operational issues and works towards a common vision of maintaining great places for our region's residents and visitors to gather, learn, meet and be entertained.

Learn more about Metro's visitor venues Meet the Metro Exposition and Recreation Commission

Impassioned civil discourse in your pajamas - Opt In

© 2014 Metro. All rights reserved.

Send questions, comments and suggestions about the website to feedback@oregonmetro.gov.

Metro
600 NE Grand Ave.
Portland, OR 97232-2736
503-797-1700
503-797-1804 TDD
503-797-1797 fax